My Martinez
  • Home
  • »
  • City Government


Martinez is governed by a five-member City Council that serve four-year terms on an overlapping basis.  The Mayor is elected at large, while the four remaining members of the City Council are elected by district.  The Council is responsible for representing the residents of Martinez; providing policy and programmatic direction to the City Manager and organization; and ensuring accountability through implementation of policies responsive to the community’s needs.

The City adopts a two-year budget every other year which serves as the financial guide for all municipal operations and reflects the goals of the Mayor and Council. 

The Council’s key priorities for the 2017-19 Budget include:

  • Sustainable Fiscal Health
  • Infrastructure Improvements
  • Safe Community
  • Economic Health
  • High Performing Government
  • Enhance Quality of Life

Please click here to review a complete copy of the adopted 2017-19 Budget.